Worrying.

April 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm Leave a comment

While I was in the passport office, I decided to do my daily devotional. Today’s Utmost For His Highest really hit home with me. Today reading was in reference to the parable of the talents. This struck me especially:

The servant justified himself, while condemning his lord on every point, as if to say, “Your demand on me is way out of proportion to what you gave to me.” Have we been falsely accusing God by daring to worry after He has said, “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you”? (Matthew 6:33). Worrying means exactly what this servant implied— “I know your intent is to leave me unprotected and vulnerable.” A person who is lazy in the natural realm is always critical, saying, “I haven’t had a decent chance,” and someone who is lazy in the spiritual realm is critical of God.

I worry. I’m worrying about whether or not I got a job. God is telling me otherwise. I’ve never seen this parable in this light, but wow. I feel I’m learning so much, especially when all this has been in front of my face the entire time.

Entry filed under: Faith. Tags: , .

Marijuana What’s hard for me right now

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



