What’s hard for me right now

April 23, 2012 at 7:42 pm Leave a comment

This is what I learned today:

Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice – Phil 4:4

My friend and I were working on a prayer bible study, when this verse came up. Following it in verse 6 a verse about do now worry about anything, but in everything, with prayer and petition, present your requests to God. While this is a verse that I take a lot of comfort in and do, pretty much on a daily basis. While there is nothing wrong with that, my friend insisted that I wasn’t doing what was in verse 4, which is to rejoice. This definitely opened my eyes a little.

She also told me that I tend to talk negatively a lot. I didn’t realise that she saw me that way. I tend to think of myself as being realistic. It may actually come across as being defensive. While this is a fair assessment, one thing that we were talking about was having children. She doesn’t have children. I have one, and I’m stopping at one. I’ve had comments from so many people that it’s “selfish” of me to having only one child, that I automatically try to explain myself. I also try to give people a more realistic picture of what parenting is really like. It’s rough. It’s hard. It’s exhausting, and it takes a lot out of you. Don’t get me wrong, I love my kid to death, and will brag your ear off if given the chance. But I think her point was that I was negative all the time, and not appreciative of what I had. I am appreciative, but maybe I need to show it more(?). I need to think more on that.

Also, Oswald Chambers is awesome as usual, reminding me that “We have no right to decide where we should be placed, or to have preconceived ideas as to what God is preparing us to do. God engineers everything“. Yes, he was talking about worshipping work.

Lots to think about today. Thank you God.

Entry filed under: Bible, Faith. Tags: , , .

Worrying. Sin List

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



