Why I Think Am Unemployed…

May 12, 2012 at 8:22 pm Leave a comment

So here are some thoughts about why maybe God had let me be unemployed at this time.

  1. My 99-year old Grandma (yes, she really is that old) is in the hospital. She’s fine now, but the short version is that she cannot go back to her assisted living place. She needs to go live in an extend care facility. Anyone who had to find an extend care facility on short notice know that this is near impossible. Facilities have long waiting lists, and it can take years before a spot can open up. Good facilities are even harder to find.  My mom is the main person in town who takes care of her. She has family to help, but one isn’t always dependable, and the other two live father away. So the burden for my Grandma’s care fall mostly on my mom’s shoulders. My Grandma only went into the hospital this past week, so things have been a little hectic for my mom. I think if I was still working, it would have been extremely hard for my mom to care for my Grandmother and help watch my son at the same time.
  2. After two months in the toddler bed, my son in the last couple of weeks had figured out that he can walk out of his room at any time he feels like it after he is put to bed. Which is every night. Several times before he goes to bed. This is exhausting for me and my husband to deal with, and really cuts into our non-kid evening time. A bedtime routine that before took about a half and hour, now takes an hour and a half, or longer. Plus, he wakes up at least once every night, and comes running into our room for no real good reason. It’s my job (because I want my husband to be rested for work the next day) to put my son back to bed quickly. Needless to say, I’ve been a little sleep-deprived for the last couple of weeks.  Now trying to take care of a house, work full-time, and take a course, plus all the other craziness that is life, that will just end up driving me bonkers.

My son has also been pushing a lot of buttons recently. He’s become more defiant, and my usual bag of tricks when he was two years old don’t work any more. I feel like I’m at my wit’s end. Today, I actually screamed at him, something that I swore I would never do. Well, parenting makes do you do things that you thought you would never do. It’s crazy like that. My life’s been a little crazy right now, so I guess maybe it’s a blessing in disguise that I’m not working right now, I have enough to deal with.

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: .

FACTS – Week of May 7, 2012 My Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



