My Mother’s Day

May 13, 2012 at 7:30 pm Leave a comment

So my fourth Mother’s Day comes to a close. In the past, I’ve always acknowledged that this was more my mom’s day than my own, mostly because I haven’t been a mother as long as she has, and my mother helps me a lot. I mean, A LOT. I seriously don’t think I would have survived my mat leave if it weren’t for my mom.

Anyways, other than giving me a lovely 4.30 am wake-up call, we had a lovely brunch at the local big-chain hotel, something that they do every year. The Boy was relatively well behaved and he at lots of food. We all did, so much that we didn’t have much for dinner. But that’s okay. The Boy also didn’t give me anything for Mother’s Day, although at school, he painted a plant pot and some rocks (for decoration), and potted a rosemary plant, which grew. He told me all about it, several time. That’s good enough for me.

I actually don’t want more things, really. I’m constantly decluttering my house. Every time I throw something out, I see $$$ flash before my eyes, especially if it’s something that I had hardly used. Even the money thing aside, it’s hard to clean around clutter. I do most of the general housework in the household, and have found that moving a pile of stuff just so I can wipe counters down, only to put the junk back on the counter drive me nuts. I’m also a little (okay, maybe not a little) OCD about clutter, so if you don’t bring things in and keep tossing things out, there will eventually be less clutter to control. It’s all good, right?

Here’s a post about what I really want for Mother’s Day (read the comments too, it’s not just her who is telling you it’s true!) For all of you who are not moms, while the post is funny and told with humour, the author’s points are all ring true for me. None of it is exaggerated. Now you have an inkling as to what it may be like as a mother. And how much I hate useless clutter.

All of you people, hug your mothers. Happy Mother’s Day!

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: .

Why I Think Am Unemployed… FACTS – Week of May 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



